The 83rd Academy Awards

With the 83rd Academy Awards right around the corner, I thought this might be the perfect time to start a movie review blog. The Oscars, ladies and gentlemen, are my bread and butter. Football fans look forward to the Super Bowl, baseball fans can’t wait for the World Series, and the sun rises and sets for me because I know that with every new day, the Oscars get closer.

This may sound a bit extreme, but I am not shy about my love for those Academy Awards. This brings out an emotional side of me that presents itself once a year. The anticipation of what might happen on Oscar night is better than waiting to find out what is wrapped up in those shiny packages on Christmas morning. The main event is elegant, entertaining, and enchanting.

Everyone wears their Sunday best and the most beautiful and talented people in show business gather in one place for one very special night.

Every year I plan to see all of the best picture nominees. Last year there were 10 best picture nominees. As someone who works full-time and goes to school at night, it is hard to find time to see ten movies in the theater.

This year I am going to do it. I am going to go ahead and assume that Black Swan, The King’s Speech, 127 Hours, and many more will be on that list. This means that I will have to endure the agonizing scene when James Franco amputates his own arm, but it is all for the love of the cinema. That and I hear the film is phenomenal.

Speaking of Mr. Franco, he and Anne Hathaway will be this year’s homecoming king and queen as co-hosts of the big event. The emcee, as far as I know, is undetermined, but I wouldn’t mind watching Neil Patrick Harris dance and sing for three hours. Just saying.

I hope you’ll all join me on the road to the 83rd Academy Awards.

One thought on “The 83rd Academy Awards

Leave a Reply

