Did you know?

Oscar, one of the most coveted awards in show business, has gone through some changes over the years.

Today, Oscar is made out of gold-plated britannium on a black metal base. It stands just over a foot tall at 13.5 inches, and weighs 8.5 pounds. The statue itself is a knight in art deco style holding a sword and standing on a reel of film.

The reel of film has five spokes. Each one of the spokes represents the five original branches of the Academy: Directors, Producers, Writers, Actors, and Technicians.

He’s a little fun fact for you: when I was just a girl, my sister and I found an Oscar statuette at the store that said “World’s Best Mom” on it. We gave it to our mother for Mother’s Day.

Every year from then on when I would watch the Oscars, at commercial break I would stand in front of my mirror, clutching the mock award and reciting my acceptance speech.

And the Oscar goes to…

Leave a Reply

