Six days of Oscar. Day five.

In this year’s Best Supporting Actor and Actress categories, there is some seriously stiff competition. My mind is pulling me in one direction and my heart is pulling me in the other. For Best Supporting Actor I feel that if Christian Bale doesn’t win it, then Geoffrey Rush will. This doesn’t mean that I want Christian Bale to win. Don’t get me wrong, Bale was phenomenal in The Fighter. He was the best I’ve ever seen him. However, Geoffrey Rush totally blew me away in The King’s Speech. A performance so wonderful that it’ll bring a tear to your eye. And maybe even another tear to your other eye.

I don’t believe I’ve ever seen Geoffrey Rush in a role that I didn’t like him in. His role in The King’s Speech as Lionel Logue was all heart. He played a man who you want to be friends with. He was endearing, charismatic, kind, and loyal. To see him ascend the stairs and accept his Oscar on Sunday night would warm my heart. Here’s to you, Geoffrey. My pick for Best Supporting Actor and a man who I wish I could be friends with in real life.

The Best Supporting Actress category gets a little complex for me. I have a pretty good feeling that Melissa Leo will win. She is quite worthy. However, the young Hailee Steinfeld was outstanding in True Grit. The 14-year-old held her own on-screen with greats Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon. Oh, and then we have Amy Adams. Adams talked for a while before The Fighter came out about wanting to shed her goody two-shoes persona and step into a darker role. She succeeded with flying colors. The only problem is that her role was a bit understated. She acted the hell out of it, but it was a less prominent role nonetheless.

This is where Melissa Leo comes in. In The Fighter, Leo plays a chain-smoking, potty-mouthed, overbearing mother. She’s pushy and outspoken and quite often a bit crazy. But she does all of those things so well. Her bad attitude paired with her bleach blonde hair make her the character we love to hate. To be honest, when the credits rolled and I saw that it was Melissa Leo in that role I was totally stunned. The transformation was a drastic one. But the Academy loves when attractive actresses turn into unattractive characters, don’t they? As much as I loved Hailee Steinfeld and Amy Adams, I believe this one goes to Melissa Leo.

Leave a Reply

