Five Promising Films for 2011 (Spring into Summer)

The end of a year in film is always kind of a sad time, but with the beginning of a new year comes a slew of new films to delight us, frighten us, make us laugh, make us cry, and make us think. Here are five films that I am looking forward to in 2011.
Water for Elephants
With a cast to die for including heart throb Robert Pattinson, the radiant Reese Witherspoon, and our very own uber-bingo Christoph Waltz, Water for Elephants is sure to be a visually stunning film full of wonderful period costumes. Anything starring Reese Witherspoon is visually stunning, no? Based on the novel by Sara Gruen, Water for Elephants hits theaters April 22nd.

 

Hop
Anything from the folks who brought us Despicable Me has to be at least decent. Hop is voiced by Russell Brand and starring the real live James Marsden. Though it looks a little corny, I’ll still be heading to the theater April 1st to check this one out. I can’t help myself. I love bunnies!
Arthur
Maybe I’m just a sucker for the ubiquitous Russell Brand. Maybe I love Jennifer Garner’s dimples. Or maybe Helen Mirren and her ageless beauty get me to the theater every time. This movie just looks lovely and I’ll be hitting the theater April 8th to catch this one.
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
While I am hoping that this is the last time we will see Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow – let’s be honest, another one would be kinda pointless – I will see Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides. I will see it for three reasons. 1) Johnny Depp 2) Penelope Cruz 3) I’ve seen the other three and it seems only right to finish it off. However, when/if a fifth one comes out, I will find it very difficult to muster the enthusiasm to see it. Get your guyliner and check it out May 20th.
Transformers: Dark of the Moon

The first movie was great fun. The second movie was atrocious. The third movie is one I will see anyway. I would get that this is due to the fact that I watched a good chunk of it being shot when they were here in Chicago. I love movies filmed in Chicago. I’m a sucker. The transformers are back July 1st.

4 thoughts on “Five Promising Films for 2011 (Spring into Summer)

    • Haha… calm down, sir. I am going to do a post for summer. I can’t reveal all of my secrets, but since you’re so passionate I will tell you that Super 8 will absolutely be on that list.

Leave a Reply

