Sun, Surf, and Cinema: Summer Movies to See

Summer marks the beginning of a fantastic cinematic season. Here are the movies that I am most looking forward to this Summer.

The Beaver

Laugh if you like, but this movie looks more promising than many of the movies coming out this summer. Starring the King of Miami himself, Mel Gibson, this ambitious directorial attempt from Jodie Foster looks pretty good! Gibson plays a family man who is down on his luck and begins communicating through a beaver puppet. Sounds absurd. I think we’ll all be very surprised. Limited release: May 6th. Wide release: May 20th.

Bridesmaids

What looks like the female version of The Hangover is sure to be better than The Hangover. A hilarious cast of women including Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph, Melissa McCarthy, and the adorable Ellie Kemper, this movie is sure to throw the stereotypical “chick flick” right out the window. See it May 13th.

Midnight in Paris

Midnight in Paris is a romantic comedy due out early this summer. The film reunites former Wedding Crashers co-stars Owen Wilson and Rachel McAdams. Woody Allen has never disappointed me before. I don’t imagine he’ll do so now. Out May 13th.

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

I’ll see Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides if for no other reason than to tie up loose ends. I always finish what I start and I have seen all three of the other films in the theater. Basically I am obligated to see this film. Luckily Johnny Depp is easy on the eyes. Am I right, ladies? May 20th.

Tree of Life

I have lukewarm feelings towards Brad Pitt, but this film looks like it will be interesting at least. If nothing else, it’ll be visually stunning. The trailer leaves much to the imagination which could be a good thing, could be a bad thing. We shall see. May 27th.

Beginners

Ewan McGregor, Christopher Plummer, and a cute little pooch headline this dramedy out this summer. A man discovers after his mother dies that his father is gay. The trailer alone had me very nearly in tears. I have high hopes for this one out June 3rd.

Super 8

Now we come to the movie that I am most excited about for this summer. Super 8 is a J.J. Abrams and Stephen Spielberg collabo. I think this film will win the summer in the race for best film of the season. If you haven’t seen the trailer, go watch now. I’m so jazzed for this one out June 10th.

Bad Teacher

Jason Segal is enough to get me to the theater for this one. Bad Teacher looks just okay at the beginning of the trailer. Cameron Diaz looks tired and old and Justin Timberlake looks like a bit of a tool. However, the presence of Jason Segal heals all wounds. Hopefully he can work his magic here, too. June 24th.

 

Transformers: Dark of the Moon

Okay, I know what you’re thinking. The second one was so horrible, why would anyone subject themselves to this? My main reason will be the fact that I saw them filming so much of it. That’s always exciting. Cross your fingers, folks. July 1st.

One Day

Being the hopeless romantic that I am, I look forward to films like this. What shall we call this? How about a dromance. This drama-romance flick follows Em and Dex in their lives since graduation. Looks interesting enough and I sure do love that Anne girl. July 8th.

Crazy Stupid Love

This movie is full of people who I love. Our ex-Michael Scott Steve Carell stars in this rom-dramedy. Also along for the ride are Marisa Tomei, Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, and Julianne Moore. Struggles in love and life lead to good movie watching. July 29th.

30 Minutes or Less

To be honest, I don’t know very much about this film other than that it has Jesse Eisenberg, Aziz Ansari, Danny McBride, and Nick Swardson. All funny men who I adore. I’ll bite. August 12th.

Our Idiot Brother

Paul Rudd plays brother to three sisters in this comedy. The cast looks strong and the plot looks like a good one. This could be a real winner. August 26th.

Shark Night 3D

Last and most definitely least, Shark Night 3-D. Okay, okay. I know I just lost any credibility that I had, but come on! You get to be submerged into the underwater turf of the great white from the safety of a movie theater! Who doesn’t want to do that, hm? I usually stay away from 3-D films, but this one might be the one exception I make. September 14th.

Well, kids, that’s all for now. I plan to see as many movies as I possibly can this summer and I promise to report back on each and every one as I always have. Click on the photos above to see more information about the films. Come on already, summer!

2 thoughts on “Sun, Surf, and Cinema: Summer Movies to See

  1. You’ve made a great set movie list to look forward. I really want to see The Beaver, Midnight in Paris, One Day and of course… Tree of Life

Leave a Reply

