La Doppia Ora (The Double Hour)

I have never been big into foreign films. This is funny because all of the foreign films I have seen, I have enjoyed. They have their own flavor. I say this from the three or four that I have seen. Outside of those, I know nothing of the foreign film genre. That being said, I enjoyed La Doppia OraThe Double Hour. It was strange and frightening and kept me guessing. I had some strong notions of what might happen when the film began, but boy was I wrong. Just when you think you know the film, it changes up on you. If you are looking for a film that will confuse and scare you then The Double Hour is the one for you.

This is the story of a speed-dating pro, Guido (Filippo Timi) – who, in my humble opinion could be Javier Bardem’s twin – and the woman who steals his heart, Sonia (Ksenia Rappoport). In the beginning of the film, poor Sonia has some unfortunate experiences. The audience feels sorry for her almost immediately. That is, until she meets Guido. The two have an undeniable spark. They seem apprehensive of this new attraction, but at the same time neither one wants to give it up.

After they eventually cave and give into their feelings, the – pardon my French – shit starts to hit the fan. Both have pasts that they are not excited about. Guido is looking for love after the loss of his first wife and Sonia… Sonia is just one big bag of secrets. The plot continues to unfold and unravel until the credits roll. It keeps us guessing all along and I’ve got a penny for the guy who can predict the ending.

The mise-en-scene of the film is frightening and spooky at times and the cinematography is really quite good. We are exposed to all of the plot details and we don’t even know it. The ending was one of those endings that had my jaw on the floor. I can’t say that’s happened in a while. The last time a film surprised me that much was the first Saw film. Fifteen sequels later I am significantly less impressed with the Saw franchise, but I digress.

The Double Hour will tug at your emotions and settle into your mind for a while. Get ready for a trip, kids. Trippy, creepy, and at times, unnerving. If this sounds like your cup of tea then you will not be disappointed. One word of advice: don’t trust anyone.

2 thoughts on “La Doppia Ora (The Double Hour)

  1. Oh it hurts my heart you don’t like foreign films. Maybe if you poke around my site you’ll find something you like 🙂 Love you blog, i’ll be a regular!

Leave a Reply

