Oh, Oscar…

This morning, when I arrived at work, I burst through the doors and announced to my co-workers “At this time tomorrow morning I will have the Oscar nominations in my hot little hands.” My brilliant message was met by bored eyes. I then said “Hey, chin up! James Franco isn’t hosting this year.” This was answered with a faint “Who’s James Frankfort?” from the back of the office. Though my co-workers were not as jazzed as yours truly, I didn’t let it get me down. Because tomorrow morning… I will have the Oscar nominations in my hot little hands!

And guess what else! You there! Yes, you! You can watch LIVE as the nominees are announced right here. If you’re located in the midwest, like I am, you can probably tune in at 7:30 tomorrow morning.

All of that being said, I would like to share with you a few predictions I have. My only wish this year is that DRIVE might be nominated for Best Picture and that Ryan Gosling might get that Oscar nod that he so truly deserves for Driver in DRIVE. What will likely happen is THE ARTIST will sweep the Oscars. At this rate it might with Best Animated Feature as well as everything else. Ludovic Bource will likely tap on home with the Oscar for Best Original Score. Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross claimed it last year for their brilliant techy mixes for THE SOCIAL NETWORK. I don’t see a nomination this year for THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO only because Hollywood only likes one trick ponies named George Clooney.

For our prom king of the evening, as much as it disappoints me to say this, Mr. Clooney himself will probably win for THE DESCENDANTS. Jean Dujardin of THE ARTIST will likely be nominated, but Hollywood has to kiss the rings every so often so that Georgie will keep coming around. Don’t get me wrong… I like George Clooney. I just HATED THE DESCENDANTS.

As far as all of the A/V stuff goes, I would wager that SHERLOCK HOLMES: A GAME OF SHADOWS, TRANSFORMERS 3: DARK OF THE MOON, and SHARK NIGHT 3D will collect quite a few nominations. I’m totally joking about the last one.

All will be revealed tomorrow morning. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

