The Grey … seriously


Once more into the fray. Into the last good fight I’ll ever know. Live and die on this day. Live and die on this day.

Sometimes I think “Man, I wish I had a better job…” but at least I don’t have to go snipe wolves on the Alaskan Tundra all day. I get to take an hour for lunch. There’s a futon to sit on and movies for the choosing in my break room. And I’m pretty sure none of my coworkers are felons. Also, whendrink with lowlifes, it’s because that’s what I wanna do, it’s not the only way to pass the time. THE GREY really puts some perspective on things in that aspect.

As you may have guessed, Ottway (Liam Neeson) is a wolf sniper for an oil company in Alaska. He’s an unhappy man – as evidenced by his suicide attempt – and has a whole lot of personal stuff he’s dealing with. I guess if you get to shoot things all day, taking your personal problems with you to work wouldn’t be such a bad thing. When the plane Ottway is on crashes, the movie takes a terrible, but incredibly predictable turn. He’s left with a group of angry, scared men who then have to figure out how to survive. Luckily, the only predators in these parts are the wolves. I guess it’s not so lucky that there are wolves, but that dreamboat Ottway knows as much about the wolves as I know about sharks. And that’s a lot.

So what does one do upon being stranded in the middle of nowhere, snow as far as the eye can see, the cold wind blowing at your nearly frost-bitten cheeks? You run like hell, naturally. One by one, the wolves will pick off the men like apples from a tree. Ottway can’t catch a break. It’s a struggle from the inside out.

I do try to look at each Liam Neeson movie I see objectively, but it’s hard because he’s so darn handsome! I have this thing for Liam Neeson. Even though when he takes off his shirt he looks like one of the giants from Skyrim, I still think he’s handsome. And that accent… I feel that this movie was a great one though. Regardless of Liam’s beautiful face. It is a bold look at the will to survive when all is lost. You do care about Ottway and about his crew of miscreants. You want them to make it. The men, in a way, are like the wolves. They work together but are always looking out for number one in some way or another. It’s almost touching. Plus I think that wolves are really neat.

Go ahead and see THE GREY. It’s an entertaining film. Gripping. And if you have a huge crush on Liam Neeson like I do, bring a box of Kleenex. No, seriously.

One thought on “The Grey … seriously

Leave a Reply

