Blair Witch

blair_witch2016-screen1

I remember the day that I saw The Blair Witch Project in the theater very well. Mostly because it was part of a double feature. The other movie I saw that day was American Pie. I was 14-years-old and my sister’s boyfriend had to purchase my tickets because both were R-rated features.

I learned a lot that day. It was my own coming of age tale right there at the cineplex. I saw BWP first and then went for American Pie as a palate cleanser. Looking back, I wish I’d done it in reverse. As a freshman in high school, American Pie was much more frightening to my unsullied brain than The Blair Witch Project was. I was like, “that’s what I’m in for? I’m goin’ to the woods instead.”

Blair Witch is being called the sequel to BWP. Only… there was a sequel already. Are we just acting like that never happened? Got it.

When James Donahue (James McCune) finds a video that he believes to be footage of his sister Heather who disappeared 17 years earlier, he gathers friends to venture into the Black Hills Forest with him in hopes of finding her. James has very good friends. He must’ve helped all of them move at one point or something because unless I owe you big time, you’re goin’ into those haunted ass woods by your damn self.

mv5bmtkzotqxodyzov5bml5banbnxkftztgwmzmzmtu3ote-_v1_sy1000_cr0014981000_al_

Tagging along are his friends Lisa (Callie Hernandez), Ashley (Corbin Reid), and Peter (Brandon Scott). Lisa’s going to film the whole thing documentary style. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from movies, it is that if you are going to go somewhere and film it, you’re probably also going to die or find yourself in a precarious situation that nobody wants to be in.

To keep us current, the friends have also brought along a drone for some sweet aerial shots. This can only mean good things.

The group meet up with Talia (Valorie Curry) and Lane (Wes Robinson) — the couple who uploaded the footage that started everything from a video tape they found — who then decide to join them.

Countless. That is the number I’ve come up with for how many times I would’ve peace’d tf out. Obviously there are going to be bizarre things happening. Like, they don’t just go into the woods, find his sister, and then go have a pint at the Black Hills Forest Pub. It’s the severity of the weirdness, though, that varies and sort of makes you go, “Wait, was that crazy? Or was that just crazy because we’re all really freaked out and on edge?”

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I love horror movies that take a handful of characters and put them in an isolated location. It’s a formula that has been proven to work time and time again. No matter what the circumstances, there’s always a point where everyone starts to suspect everybody else of being behind the creepy goings on. Who can you trust? Anyone? No one? We’re all dead? Cool!

So they set up camp and have super eerie campfire conversations, like you do, on the first night out. After oversleeping until 2p, they pop their little heads out of their tents to find the infamous Blair Witch stick figures all over camp. For once, a logical decision is made when the group decide to call it a day and GTFO. After traipsing through the trees for hours on end, they find themselves right back at camp. They even use GPS and the drone to try to nail down their location.

tumblr_oar1wid0n61vyvg1co4_500

That right there is why this movie is so excellent; people are making good choices. They’ve gotten themselves into a pickle and are trying to right things again, but not even Tom Cruise in All the Right Moves could help them now.

This movie is nightmare fuel. It doesn’t give much, but that is way more effective than going the other way. It’s a slow burn that gradually becomes an inferno. What makes the Blair Witch itself so terrifying as that it’s left completely to the imagination. We have very little notion of the size, shape, or physical appearance. So our minds are free to run wild with ideas; each more panic-inducing than the last.

Also, I was delighted to find that this movie is really frickin’ funny! That, I was not expecting. I love a good thriller with a sense of humor. Blair Witch gets the job done without diminishing the feeling of imminent terror pukes.

Nobody dies in this movie.

Just kidding. People totally die. Or vanish. Or … get beamed up. I don’t know. I wasn’t there. What I do know is that Adam Wingard knows how to make a scary ass movie. Directing one of my favorite films of the last decade, You’re Next, Wingard is also responsible for segments in two other greats, V/H/S and V/H/S 2.

To put a bow on things, Wingard teamed up with music producer Robert Rich to create a perfectly macabre blanket of sound to complete the hell-on-screen world of the Black Hills Forest.

If you enjoyed the first one, I’d wager a guess that you’ll love this one. This movie has Wingard all over it. It’s supremely creepy, disarmingly witty, and really brings the A game jump scares. If you really want that genuine we’re-all-gonna-die feel, see this one in the theater for sure.

 

Leave a Reply

