Dustin Hoffman isn’t Having Any Fun

A haunting image of Dustin Hoffman who appeared to be bored to tears during the telecast of the 69th annual Golden Globe Awards only to perk right up after he did his bit on stage. I’m guessing a little gin restored his pluck once he knew he didn’t have to do anything for the rest of the evening. Ricky Gervais was invited back this year to host after last year’s debacle. He was crude and mean-spirited last year, but don’t we love that? I personally think that people take themselves to seriously. I guarantee that at some point in your esteemed careers, Hollywood actors, that some tabloid has said something about you that was far more heinous than anything Gervais may’ve said. Last night I would say that he reeled it in a bit, but he looked like he still had a good time. Nevermind that every time I we saw Elton John he was completely nonplussed with the whole ordeal.

The show was something of a success, I’d say. Entertaining and cheesy at times, I’m looking at you, Felicity Huffman and William H. Macy. Christopher Plummer took home a Globe for BEGINNERS which was wonderful, just like his performance. It was interesting to see who would get the wrap it up music. I certainly wish that Madonna would’ve gotten it sooner than she did. The two people who were with her behind the win for Best Original Song for W.E. stood patiently as Madonna, who has won countless awards, didn’t give them a chance to speak at all. I never liked Madonna much, anyway.

Big wins of the night that made me happy were Ludovic Bource for Best Original Score, Jean Dujardin and his Best Actor award for THE ARTIST, and THE ARTIST for Best Picture Comedy or Musical. THE DESCENDANTS held far more nominations than I cared to see, and sure enough George Clooney took the Best Actor Drama Globe home.

All in all, the show was fun and after all of the drama in Hollywoodland last year, it was interesting to see all of those glamorous people in one room, pretending to like one another. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure there are genuine people in Hollywood. I guess I just feel like these things are a lot like when my family and I get together for the holidays and we all talk and smile and laugh when we realize the camera is on us just for one night.

Leave a comment